Home › Retirement Research › FIA guaranteed minimum caps
Hans GoldsteinBy Hans Goldstein, EA, Founder, Retirement Literacy Foundation. Admitted to practice before the IRS. The Foundation's work is independent of any outside professional activity. RLF sells nothing and accepts no funding from financial companies. Education, not a product recommendation.
Published · Methodology dated October 4, 2026 · Ownership column added October 5, 2026
Key finding

Of 99 fixed indexed annuities whose public documents state a numeric minimum annual cap, 86 (87%) let the insurer lower that cap to 1.00% or less, and 36 to 0.50% or less.

A fixed indexed annuity's cap is set by the insurer and can be lowered at each renewal, down to a contractual minimum written into the contract. Of 99 fixed indexed annuities whose public documents state a numeric minimum annual cap, 86 (87%) let the insurer lower that cap to 1.00% or less, and 36 to 0.50% or less. Across 74 products with a 2026-dated S&P 500 one-year cap, the median cap was 8.12% and the median contractual minimum was 1.00% (public documents checked October 4, 2026).

Insurers are named below only as the publishers of the documents cited. A low contractual minimum is a term of the contract, not a prediction: it marks how far the insurer is allowed to go, and it is the number to compare when you weigh a current cap.

How low the floors go

Contractual minimum annual cap, 99 fixed indexed annuities, public documents checked October 4, 2026
Lowest the insurer can set the capProductsShare
0.50% or less3636%
Above 0.50% to 1.00%5051%
Above 1.00% to 2.00%1010%
Above 2.00%33%
Total with a published numeric minimum99100%

Methodology (as of October 4, 2026)

What we measured. For each fixed indexed annuity (FIA) and each crediting strategy, the contractual minimum the insurer may set: the minimum cap, the minimum participation rate, the maximum spread or margin, the minimum fixed-account rate, and any bailout provision. These minimums are contractual: they are backed by the claims-paying ability of the issuing insurer, not by the FDIC or any government agency.

Sources. Insurers' public rate pages and their footnotes, client disclosures and allocation forms, statements of understanding, specimen contracts, and SEC prospectuses (EDGAR). Each row of the CSV carries the source URL, a short verbatim quote, the form number where one exists, and the date checked. The state filing system SERFF (filingaccess.serff.com) was unavailable for every state we tried (login wall, 403 or 404 errors), so no SERFF filing was used.

Confidence grades. Verified: a public document from the insurer, the SEC, or a public broker page reproducing the insurer's document states the number. Partial (secondary source): the number comes from a secondary rate service (mostly AnnuityRatesHQ, which republishes CANNEX data) or from an older version of the form; treat these as provisional. Numbers found only in documents marked for agent or producer use are not published here; where that is the only source, the table says "producer-only document, not published". Products with no number found are listed as publishing no numeric minimum.

Coverage. 153 FIA product rows from 40 insurers, plus 25 RILA product rows. Site-specific or retired names that do not match a real product were dropped. Current caps are the most recent published rate we found and carry their own effective date; minimums are as stated in the cited document. Your own contract governs: a contract keeps the minimums printed in the version you were issued, so an older contract can differ from today's disclosure.

Counting rule. One row per product (product variants are split only when their minimums differ). A product counts when a public, verified or secondary-source document states a numeric minimum for an annual (one-year or multi-year term) cap; monthly caps are reported separately and not counted. Where a product has several cap strategies or phases, the lowest stated annual-cap minimum is used, including a lower minimum that applies after the surrender period. Numbers that appear only in material marked for agents are not counted and not shown. Registered index-linked annuities (RILAs) are reported in their own section. On verified primary documents alone, 57 of 62 products (92%) are at 1.00% or less.

The data: contractual minimums by product

Read each row as "today the insurer pays X; the contract lets it pay as little as Y." Blank cells mean the public document we found did not state that item. Monthly-cap minimums are shown in parentheses. Scroll the table sideways on a phone.

125 fixed indexed annuities with public verified or secondary-source documents. Minimums as stated in the linked public document, checked October 4, 2026. Full per-strategy data: CSV.
InsurerOwner (ownership type)ProductS&P 500 1-yr cap (effective date)Contractual minimum capMin. participationMax. spreadFixed account min.BailoutSourceGrade
Allianz LifeAllianz SE
Foreign parent · source
Allianz 222 Annuity (C54370, Oregon-only for new sales)5.50% (2026-10-06)0.25% (monthly cap 0.50%)5.00%0.10%none foundallianzlife.comVerified
Allianz LifeAllianz SE
Foreign parent · source
Allianz 222 Annuity (older issues, pre-MY methods)not foundno numeric minimum published10.00%12.00%0.10%none foundallianzlife.comVerified
Allianz LifeAllianz SE
Foreign parent · source
Allianz 222+ Annuity (C64997)5.50% (2026-10-06)0.25% (monthly cap 0.50%)5.00%0.10%none foundallianzlife.comPartial (secondary source)
Allianz LifeAllianz SE
Foreign parent · source
Allianz 360 Annuity5.00% (2026-10-06)0.25% (monthly cap 0.50%)5.00%0.10%none foundallianzlife.comVerified
Allianz LifeAllianz SE
Foreign parent · source
Allianz 360 Annuity (older issues)not foundno numeric minimum published10.00%12.00%0.10%none foundallianzlife.comVerified
Allianz LifeAllianz SE
Foreign parent · source
Allianz 365i Annuity (retired, in-force only)not found0.25% (monthly cap 0.50%)12.00%0.10%none foundallianzlife.comVerified
Allianz LifeAllianz SE
Foreign parent · source
Allianz Accumulation Advantage 5 Annuity (C64997)10.75% (2026-10-06)0.25%5.00%0.10%none foundallianzlife.comVerified
Allianz LifeAllianz SE
Foreign parent · source
Allianz Accumulation Advantage 7 Annuity (C64997)9.75% (2026-10-06)0.25%5.00%0.10%none foundallianzlife.comVerified
Allianz LifeAllianz SE
Foreign parent · source
Allianz Accumulation Advantage Annuity (C64237)8.75% (2026-10-06)0.25% (monthly cap 0.50%)5.00%0.10%none foundallianzlife.comVerified
Allianz LifeAllianz SE
Foreign parent · source
Allianz Accumulation Advantage Annuity (older issues / National)not foundno numeric minimum published10.00%12.00%0.10%none foundallianzlife.comVerified
Allianz LifeAllianz SE
Foreign parent · source
Allianz Accumulation Advantage Classic Annuity (C64997)9.25% (2026-10-06)0.25% (monthly cap 0.50%)5.00%0.10%none foundallianzlife.comPartial (secondary source)
Allianz LifeAllianz SE
Foreign parent · source
Allianz Accumulation Advantage+ Annuity (C64997)6.00% (2026-10-06)0.25% (monthly cap 0.50%)5.00%0.10%none foundallianzlife.comVerified
Allianz LifeAllianz SE
Foreign parent · source
Allianz Benefit Control Annuity (C64237, Oregon-only)4.00% (2026-10-06)0.25% (monthly cap 0.50%)5.00%0.10%none foundallianzlife.comVerified
Allianz LifeAllianz SE
Foreign parent · source
Allianz Benefit Control+ Annuity (C64997)4.00% (2026-10-06)0.25% (monthly cap 0.50%)5.00%0.10%none foundallianzlife.comPartial (secondary source)
Allianz LifeAllianz SE
Foreign parent · source
Allianz Core Income 7 Annuity4.00% (2026-10-06)0.25%5.00%12.00%0.10%none foundallianzlife.comVerified
Allianz LifeAllianz SE
Foreign parent · source
Allianz Essential Income 7 Annuity (C61892-02-MVA)4.00% (2026-10-06)0.25% (3.00% years 1-7; 0.25% after)0.10%none foundallianzlife.comVerified
Allianz LifeAllianz SE
Foreign parent · source
Allianz Retirement Foundation ADV Annuity4.50% (2026-10-06)0.25%0.10%none foundallianzlife.comVerified
American EquityBrookfield Wealth Solutions Ltd.
PE-owned or PE-affiliated · source
American Equity AssetShield 5/7/109.25% (2026-09-02)0.50% (monthly cap 0.50%)10.00%0.50%Rate Integrity Rider: waiver rate set at issueannuityrateshq.comPartial (secondary source)
American EquityBrookfield Wealth Solutions Ltd.
PE-owned or PE-affiliated · source
American Equity IncomeShield 7/10/Bonus 105.75% (latest public sheet found: 2026-05-06)0.50% (monthly cap 0.50%)10.00%0.50%none foundannuityrateshq.comPartial (secondary source)
American General Life (Corebridge Financial)Corebridge Financial, Inc.
Public stock · source
Corebridge Power Select Builder10.50% (2026-10-01)1.00%5.00%9.50%1.00%none foundadminplus.fgsfulfillment.comVerified
American General Life (Corebridge Financial)Corebridge Financial, Inc.
Public stock · source
Corebridge Power Select Plus Income (Lifetime Income Plus Flex)3.50% (2026-10-01)1.00%5.00%9.50%1.00%none foundadminplus.fgsfulfillment.comVerified
American General Life (Corebridge Financial)Corebridge Financial, Inc.
Public stock · source
Corebridge Power Select Plus Income (Lifetime Income Plus Multiplier Flex)2.70% (2026-10-01)1.50% (2.00% (years 1-10), 1.50% (11+))7.00%8.00%1.00%none foundadminplus.fgsfulfillment.comVerified
American NationalBrookfield Wealth Solutions Ltd.
PE-owned or PE-affiliated · source
ANICO Strategy Indexed Annuity PLUS (older series)not found0.10%10.00%3.00%none foundannuityrateshq.comPartial (secondary source)
American NationalBrookfield Wealth Solutions Ltd.
PE-owned or PE-affiliated · source
Smart Start Accumulator Plus (10-yr; 5-yr version too)5.20% (2026-10-02)1.00%10.00%3.00%none foundannuityrateshq.comPartial (secondary source)
American NationalBrookfield Wealth Solutions Ltd.
PE-owned or PE-affiliated · source
Strategy Indexed Annuity PLUS 7 / PLUS 10 (ASIA PLUS)7.00% (2026-10-02)1.00% (monthly cap 1.00%)10.00%3.00%none foundannuityrateshq.comPartial (secondary source)
AmericoAmerico Life, Inc. (privately held)
Other · source
Americo Elite 5not foundno numeric minimum published10.00%0.25%none foundamerico.comPartial (secondary source)
AmericoAmerico Life, Inc. (privately held)
Other · source
Growth Commander 6 / 107.85% (2026-08-29)1.00%5.00%0.15%none foundgrowthcommanderfia.comVerified
AmeritasAmeritas Mutual Holding Company
Mutual · source
ApexAdvantage Index Annuity (10-yr MSPDA)not foundproducer-only document, not published10.00%2.00%none foundlegacynet.comVerified
AmFirst Insurance CompanyAmFirst Holdings, Inc.
Other · source
Trailhead FIA 5/7/10 (and Trailhead FIA PLUS)not found1.00%10.00%1.40%none foundannuityrateshq.comPartial (secondary source)
AspidaAres Management Corporation
PE-owned or PE-affiliated · source
Synergy Choice Bonusnot found1.00%5.00%1.00%none foundannuityrateshq.comPartial (secondary source)
AspidaAres Management Corporation
PE-owned or PE-affiliated · source
Synergy Choice Incomenot found1.00%5.00%1.00%none foundannuityrateshq.comPartial (secondary source)
AspidaAres Management Corporation
PE-owned or PE-affiliated · source
Synergy Choice Max 1010.25% (2026-10-02)1.00%5.00%1.00%S&P cap bailout, rate set at issueannuityrateshq.comPartial (secondary source)
AtheneApollo Global Management, Inc.
PE-owned or PE-affiliated · source
Athene Agility 105.50% (2026-08-28)0.50%10.00%0.25%0.50%, equal to the floorfiles.ipipeline.comVerified
AtheneApollo Global Management, Inc.
PE-owned or PE-affiliated · source
Athene Agility 75.25% (2026-08-28)0.50%10.00%0.25%0.50%, equal to the floorfiles.ipipeline.comVerified
AtheneApollo Global Management, Inc.
PE-owned or PE-affiliated · source
Athene Ascent Pro 107.25% (latest public sheet found: 2026-01-01)0.50%10.00%0.25%1.00% (S&P 1-yr cap)files.ipipeline.comVerified
AtheneApollo Global Management, Inc.
PE-owned or PE-affiliated · source
Athene Ascent Pro 10 Bonus5.50% (2026-08-28)0.50%10.00%0.25%1.00% (S&P 1-yr cap)files.ipipeline.comVerified
AtheneApollo Global Management, Inc.
PE-owned or PE-affiliated · source
Athene Ascent Pro 76.75% (latest public sheet found: 2026-01-01)0.50%10.00%1.00%3.00% (S&P 1-yr cap)files.ipipeline.comVerified
AtheneApollo Global Management, Inc.
PE-owned or PE-affiliated · source
Athene Performance Elite 10 / Performance Elite Plus 105.50% (2026-09-25)0.50%10.00%0.25%none foundfiles.ipipeline.comVerified
AtheneApollo Global Management, Inc.
PE-owned or PE-affiliated · source
Athene Performance Elite 15 / Performance Elite Plus 157.00% (2026-09-25)0.50%10.00%0.25%none foundfiles.ipipeline.comVerified
AtheneApollo Global Management, Inc.
PE-owned or PE-affiliated · source
Athene Performance Elite 7 / Performance Elite Plus 79.75% (2026-09-25)0.50%10.00%0.25%none foundfiles.ipipeline.comVerified
Atlantic Coast LifeAdvantage Capital Holdings (A-CAP), privately held
Other · source
Safe Anchor (5-yr FIA)4.10% (latest public sheet found: 2026-01-01)0.25% (monthly cap 0.25%)100%2.40%none foundaclico.comPartial (secondary source)
Delaware LifeGroup 1001 (controlled by Mark R. Walter)
Other · source
Delaware Life Growth Pathway 5/7not foundno numeric minimum publishedBailout cap rate on S&P 1-yr capcdn.bfldr.comVerified
EquiTrustAmistad Financial Group, LLC
Other · source
EquiTrust MarketEdge Bonus Index6.75% (2026-09-15)1.00% (monthly cap 0.50%)10.00%1.00%none foundagents.equitrust.comVerified
EquiTrustAmistad Financial Group, LLC
Other · source
EquiTrust MarketForce Bonus Indexnot foundno numeric minimum published1.00%none foundagents.equitrust.comVerified
EquiTrustAmistad Financial Group, LLC
Other · source
EquiTrust MarketPower Bonus Index8.25% (2026-09-15)1.00% (monthly cap 0.50%)10.00%1.00%none foundagents.equitrust.comVerified
F&GFidelity National Financial, Inc. (NYSE: FNF)
Public stock · source
F&G Flex Accumulator7.75% (latest public sheet found: 2026-04-09)no numeric minimum published20.00%10.00%none foundinfo.creativeone.comVerified
F&GFidelity National Financial, Inc. (NYSE: FNF)
Public stock · source
F&G Power Accumulator 7/10not foundno numeric minimum published15.00%15.00%1.00%none foundinfo.creativeone.comVerified
F&GFidelity National Financial, Inc. (NYSE: FNF)
Public stock · source
F&G Prosperity Elite 7/10/146.50% (latest public sheet found: 2025-11-14)1.00% (monthly cap 1.00%)100%5.00%1.00%none foundannuityresources.comPartial (secondary source)
F&GFidelity National Financial, Inc. (NYSE: FNF)
Public stock · source
F&G Safe Income Advantagenot foundno numeric minimum published100%10.00%none foundinfo.creativeone.comVerified
F&GFidelity National Financial, Inc. (NYSE: FNF)
Public stock · source
F&G Safe Income Plusnot found1.00% (monthly cap 1.00%)100%1.00%none foundannuityresources.comPartial (secondary source)
F&GFidelity National Financial, Inc. (NYSE: FNF)
Public stock · source
FG Accumulator Plus 10 (2011-2013 form, API-1018)not foundmonthly cap 3.00%; no annual cap floor publishednone foundyigagents.comPartial (secondary source)
F&GFidelity National Financial, Inc. (NYSE: FNF)
Public stock · source
FG AccumulatorPlus 7/108.50% (latest public sheet found: 2026-04-09)1.00% (1.00% (2019 statement of understanding); 3% (2013 version)) (monthly cap 1.00%)10.00%5.00%1.00%none foundannuityresources.comPartial (secondary source)
Forethought Life (Global Atlantic)KKR & Co. Inc.
PE-owned or PE-affiliated · source
Forethought ForeAccumulation II10.25% (2026-09-28)1.00%10.00%15.00%0.50%none foundveritas-solutions.netVerified
Forethought Life (Global Atlantic)KKR & Co. Inc.
PE-owned or PE-affiliated · source
Forethought ForeIncome II5.00% (latest public sheet found: 2026-04-27)1.00%10.00%15.00%0.50%Per strategy, e.g. 3.00% (S&P cap)veritas-solutions.netVerified
Integrity Life (Western & Southern)Western & Southern Mutual Holding Company
Mutual · source
Indextra Series (5/7/10-yr)8.50% (2026-09-15)1.00%10.00%2.50%none foundaccessful.comVerified
Integrity Life (Western & Southern)Western & Southern Mutual Holding Company
Mutual · source
JourneyMark (10-yr; JM7/JM5 also offer GS Mariner)not foundno numeric minimum published4.00%2.50%none foundaccessful.comVerified
Jackson NationalJackson Financial Inc. (NYSE: JXN)
Public stock · source
MarketProtector (5/7-yr)7.75% (2026-10-05)1.00% (1.00% / 1.05% / 1.10%)10.00%10.00%2.40%none foundjackson.comVerified
Jackson NationalJackson Financial Inc. (NYSE: JXN)
Public stock · source
MarketProtector Advisory (5/7/10-yr)9.10% (2026-10-05)1.00% (1.00% / 1.05% / 1.10%)10.00%10.00%2.40%none foundjackson.comVerified
Jackson NationalJackson Financial Inc. (NYSE: JXN)
Public stock · source
MarketProtector III (Morgan Stanley distribution)not found2.00% (2.00% (5-yr) / 3.00% (7/10-yr))2.40%none foundjackson.comVerified
Life Insurance Company of the SouthwestNational Life Holding Company (mutual holding company)
Mutual · source
FIT Secure Growth (flexible premium FIA)not found1.00%10.00%1.00%none found403bcompare.comPartial (secondary source)
LincolnLincoln National Corporation (NYSE: LNC)
Public stock · source
Lincoln Core Capitalnot found1.00%5.00%1.65%none foundvisit.lfg.comVerified
LincolnLincoln National Corporation (NYSE: LNC)
Public stock · source
Lincoln Covered Choice 5 IInot found1.00%5.00%1.65%none foundvisit.lfg.comVerified
LincolnLincoln National Corporation (NYSE: LNC)
Public stock · source
Lincoln OptiBlend 10not found1.00%5.00%1.65%none foundvisit.lfg.comVerified
LincolnLincoln National Corporation (NYSE: LNC)
Public stock · source
Lincoln OptiBlend 5not found1.00%5.00%1.65%none foundvisit.lfg.comVerified
LincolnLincoln National Corporation (NYSE: LNC)
Public stock · source
Lincoln OptiBlend 5/7/10 (2022-2023 issues)not foundno numeric minimum published5.00%20.00%0.10%none foundlincolnfinancial.comVerified
LincolnLincoln National Corporation (NYSE: LNC)
Public stock · source
Lincoln OptiBlend 7not found1.00%5.00%1.65%none foundvisit.lfg.comVerified
MassMutual AscendMassachusetts Mutual Life Insurance Company (MassMutual)
Mutual · source
MassMutual Ascend American Legend 710.00% (2026-09-21)2.40%5.00%0.25%none foundmybusiness.massmutualascend.comVerified
MassMutual AscendMassachusetts Mutual Life Insurance Company (MassMutual)
Mutual · source
MassMutual Ascend Index Protector 710.00% (latest public sheet found: 2025-11-21)2.40%5.00%2.40%none foundmybusiness.massmutualascend.comVerified
MassMutual AscendMassachusetts Mutual Life Insurance Company (MassMutual)
Mutual · source
MassMutual Ascend Premier Income Bonusnot found2.40%5.00%2.40%none foundmybusiness.massmutualascend.comVerified
Midland NationalSammons Enterprises, Inc. (employee-owned via ESOP)
Other · source
MNL Endeavor 89.60% (latest public sheet found: 2026-06-18)0.50% (monthly cap 0.25%)5.00%25.00%0.25%none foundmidlandnational.comVerified
NassauNassau Financial Group (majority owned by Golden Gate Capital)
PE-owned or PE-affiliated · source
Nassau Growth Annuity (7/10-yr)10.50% (2026-10-02)0.75%5.00%2.35%none foundassets.nfg.comVerified
National WesternJAB Holding Company (JAB Insurance)
Other · source
NWL Ultra Classic (FPDA)not found1.00%20.00%6.00%1.00%none foundeapp.nationalwesternlife.comVerified
National WesternJAB Holding Company (JAB Insurance)
Other · source
NWL Ultra Future (FPDA, 9-yr)not foundno numeric minimum published20.00%6.00%1.00%none foundeapp.nationalwesternlife.comVerified
New York LifeNew York Life Insurance Company
Mutual · source
New York Life IndexFlex Fixed Annuity-FP Series (5/7-yr)10.00% (2026-10-05)0.50% (1.00% / 0.50%)0.05%none foundassets.newyorklife.comVerified
North AmericanSammons Enterprises, Inc. (employee-owned via ESOP)
Other · source
NAC VersaChoice 1010.10% (latest public sheet found: 2026-06-18)0.50% (monthly cap 0.25%)5.00%15.00%0.25%none foundfmiagent.comVerified
North AmericanSammons Enterprises, Inc. (employee-owned via ESOP)
Other · source
North American Charter Plus 106.00% (latest public sheet found: 2026-06-18)0.50% (monthly cap 0.25%)5.00%0.25%none foundfmiagent.comVerified
North AmericanSammons Enterprises, Inc. (employee-owned via ESOP)
Other · source
North American Charter Plus 146.00% (latest public sheet found: 2026-06-18)0.50% (monthly cap 0.25%)5.00%0.25%none foundfmiagent.comVerified
North AmericanSammons Enterprises, Inc. (employee-owned via ESOP)
Other · source
North American Charter Plus 14 (California fee version)not found0.50%5.00%0.25%none foundfmiagent.comPartial (secondary source)
North AmericanSammons Enterprises, Inc. (employee-owned via ESOP)
Other · source
North American Secure Horizonnot found0.50%5.00%0.10%none foundnorthamericancompany.comVerified
North AmericanSammons Enterprises, Inc. (employee-owned via ESOP)
Other · source
North American Secure Horizon Plusnot foundno numeric minimum published10.00%0.10%none foundnorthamericancompany.comVerified
North AmericanSammons Enterprises, Inc. (employee-owned via ESOP)
Other · source
Performance Choice 88.90% (latest public sheet found: 2026-06-18)0.50% (monthly cap 0.25%)5.00%15.00%0.25%none foundnorthamericancompany.comVerified
OceanviewBayview Asset Management (via Bayview Opportunity V Oceanview L.P.)
PE-owned or PE-affiliated · source
Harbourview Fixed Indexed Annuity (3/5/7/10-yr, MVA)8.50% (2026-10-02)1.00% (monthly cap 1.00%)10.00%1.00%none foundannuityrateshq.comPartial (secondary source)
OceanviewBayview Asset Management (via Bayview Opportunity V Oceanview L.P.)
PE-owned or PE-affiliated · source
Harbourview Fixed Indexed Annuity 10 (MVA)not found1.00%10.00%1.00%none foundannuityrateshq.comPartial (secondary source)
ProtectiveDai-ichi Life Holdings, Inc.
Foreign parent · source
Protective Asset Builder IInot foundno numeric minimum published2.55%none founddelivery-p102752-e1161810.adobeaemcloud.comVerified
ProtectiveDai-ichi Life Holdings, Inc.
Foreign parent · source
Protective Income Buildernot found1.50%0.00%none foundfinpro.protective.comPartial (secondary source)
ProtectiveDai-ichi Life Holdings, Inc.
Foreign parent · source
Protective Indexed Annuity II7.00% (2026-09-29)no numeric minimum published2.55%none founddelivery-p102752-e1161810.adobeaemcloud.comPartial (secondary source)
Prudential (Pruco Life)Prudential Financial, Inc. (NYSE: PRU)
Public stock · source
SurePath (7/10-yr)10.25% (2026-09-01)1.00%1.00%none foundprudential.scene7.comVerified
Prudential (Pruco Life)Prudential Financial, Inc. (NYSE: PRU)
Public stock · source
SurePath Income4.00% (latest public sheet found: 2026-03-17)1.00%5.00%1.00%none foundprudential.scene7.comVerified
SagicorSagicor Financial Company Ltd. (TSX: SFC)
Foreign parent · source
Sage Accumulator FIA 5/7/10 (successor to Platinum Series)10.75% (2026-08-19)1.00%10.00%1.00%none foundannuityrateshq.comPartial (secondary source)
Securian (Minnesota Life)Minnesota Mutual Companies, Inc.
Mutual · source
SecureLink Chronic Illness Accessnot foundno numeric minimum published10.00%0.50%none foundfmiagent.comVerified
Securian (Minnesota Life)Minnesota Mutual Companies, Inc.
Mutual · source
SecureLink Ultra 5 / Ultra 710.05% (latest public sheet found: 2025-03-15)1.00%10.00%0.50%none foundfmiagent.comVerified
Sentinel Security LifeAdvantage Capital Holdings (A-CAP), privately held
Other · source
Accumulation Protector Plus Annuity (10-yr, 20% bonus)6.25% (2026-10-04)1.00%10.00%2.40%none foundsslco.comPartial (secondary source)
Sentinel Security LifeAdvantage Capital Holdings (A-CAP), privately held
Other · source
Personal Choice Plus+ (5-yr)4.10% (2026-10-04)1.00% (monthly cap 1.00%)2.40%none foundsslco.comPartial (secondary source)
Sentinel Security LifeAdvantage Capital Holdings (A-CAP), privately held
Other · source
Summit Bonus Index (10-yr, 7% bonus)2.50% (2026-10-04)0.25% (monthly cap 0.25%)1.00%none foundsslco.comPartial (secondary source)
SILACSILAC, Inc. (acquisition by Hildene Capital Management pending)
PE-owned or PE-affiliated · source
SILAC Denali 10 (Denali Series, 10-yr)9.00% (2026-10-02)1.50% (monthly cap 1.50%)15.00%2.50%none foundannuityrateshq.comPartial (secondary source)
SILACSILAC, Inc. (acquisition by Hildene Capital Management pending)
PE-owned or PE-affiliated · source
SILAC Denali 14 (Denali Series, 14-yr)10.25% (2026-10-02)1.50% (monthly cap 1.50%)15.00%2.50%none foundannuityrateshq.comPartial (secondary source)
SILACSILAC, Inc. (acquisition by Hildene Capital Management pending)
PE-owned or PE-affiliated · source
SILAC Denali 7 (Denali Series, 7-yr)8.50% (2026-10-02)1.50% (monthly cap 1.50%)15.00%2.50%none foundannuityrateshq.comPartial (secondary source)
SILACSILAC, Inc. (acquisition by Hildene Capital Management pending)
PE-owned or PE-affiliated · source
SILAC Denali Bonus 106.00% (2026-10-02)1.50% (monthly cap 1.50%)15.00%2.50%none foundannuityrateshq.comPartial (secondary source)
SILACSILAC, Inc. (acquisition by Hildene Capital Management pending)
PE-owned or PE-affiliated · source
SILAC Denali Bonus 146.75% (2026-10-02)1.50% (monthly cap 1.50%)15.00%2.50%none foundannuityrateshq.comPartial (secondary source)
SILACSILAC, Inc. (acquisition by Hildene Capital Management pending)
PE-owned or PE-affiliated · source
SILAC Evolve 14 (income-focused FIA)10.25% (2026-10-02)1.50% (monthly cap 1.50%)15.00%2.50%none foundannuityrateshq.comPartial (secondary source)
SILACSILAC, Inc. (acquisition by Hildene Capital Management pending)
PE-owned or PE-affiliated · source
SILAC Teton 14 (Teton Series)8.25% (2026-10-02)1.50% (monthly cap 1.50%)15.00%2.50%none foundannuityrateshq.comPartial (secondary source)
SymetraSumitomo Life Insurance Company
Foreign parent · source
Symetra Edge Elite11.00% (2026-10-01)1.00% (2.00%/3.00% in withdrawal-charge period; 1.00% after)10.00%1.00%none foundsymetra.comVerified
SymetraSumitomo Life Insurance Company
Foreign parent · source
Symetra Edge Plus (legacy; 12/2023 sheet)not foundmonthly cap 1.00%; no annual cap floor published4.50%0.50%none foundsymetra.comVerified
SymetraSumitomo Life Insurance Company
Foreign parent · source
Symetra Edge Pro (legacy; last public rate sheet 10/2022)not foundmonthly cap 1.00%; no annual cap floor published0.50%none foundsymetra.comVerified
SymetraSumitomo Life Insurance Company
Foreign parent · source
Symetra Stride5.00% (latest public sheet found: 2026-03-03)0.50%10.00%0.25%none foundsymetra.comVerified
The StandardMeiji Yasuda Life Insurance Company
Foreign parent · source
EclipseMark 10 (distributor-specific Standard FIA)9.50% (2026-10-02)1.00%10.00%1.00%none foundannuityrateshq.comPartial (secondary source)
The StandardMeiji Yasuda Life Insurance Company
Foreign parent · source
EclipseMark 5 (distributor-specific Standard FIA)8.00% (2026-10-02)1.00%10.00%1.00%none foundannuityrateshq.comPartial (secondary source)
The StandardMeiji Yasuda Life Insurance Company
Foreign parent · source
Enhanced Choice Index Plus 5/7/10 (ECI Plus, 2025 version)9.25% (2026-10-04)1.00%10.00%0.10%none foundstandard.comVerified
The StandardMeiji Yasuda Life Insurance Company
Foreign parent · source
Index Select Annuity 108.50% (2026-10-04)1.00%15.00%0.10%none foundstandard.comVerified
The StandardMeiji Yasuda Life Insurance Company
Foreign parent · source
Index Select Annuity 58.75% (2026-10-04)1.00%15.00%0.10%none foundstandard.comVerified
The StandardMeiji Yasuda Life Insurance Company
Foreign parent · source
Index Select Annuity 79.00% (2026-10-04)1.00%15.00%0.10%none foundstandard.comVerified
The StandardMeiji Yasuda Life Insurance Company
Foreign parent · source
Thrive Plus 10 (distributor-specific Standard FIA)9.50% (2026-10-02)1.00%10.00%0.10%none foundannuityrateshq.comPartial (secondary source)
The StandardMeiji Yasuda Life Insurance Company
Foreign parent · source
Thrive Plus 10 Bonus (distributor-specific Standard FIA)6.50% (2026-10-02)1.00%10.00%0.10%none foundannuityrateshq.comPartial (secondary source)
The StandardMeiji Yasuda Life Insurance Company
Foreign parent · source
Thrive Plus 7 (distributor-specific Standard FIA)9.00% (2026-10-02)1.00%10.00%0.10%none foundannuityrateshq.comPartial (secondary source)
ThriventThrivent (owned by its members)
Other · source
Thrivent Secure Retirement Builder Fixed Indexed Annuity (with GLWB)9.00% (2026-09-28)1.00%0.50%none foundthrivent.comVerified
ThriventThrivent (owned by its members)
Other · source
Thrivent Security Preference Fixed Indexed Annuity9.25% (2026-09-28)1.00%0.50%none foundthrivent.comVerified
TransamericaAegon Ltd.
Foreign parent · source
Transamerica Secure Retirement Index Annuity (10-yr) [closed to new sales]not found1.00% (1.00% during surrender period; 1.00% after)100%0.00%1.00%none foundannuitynest.comVerified
TransamericaAegon Ltd.
Foreign parent · source
Transamerica Secure Retirement Index Annuity (5-yr) [closed to new sales]not found1.00% (2.00% during surrender period; 1.00% after)100%0.00%1.00%none foundannuitynest.comVerified
TransamericaAegon Ltd.
Foreign parent · source
Transamerica Secure Retirement Index Annuity (8-yr) [closed to new sales]not found1.00% (3.00% during surrender period; 1.00% after)100%0.00%1.00%none foundannuitynest.comVerified
TransamericaAegon Ltd.
Foreign parent · source
Transamerica Secure Retirement Index Annuity (all terms) [closed]not foundno numeric minimum published1.00%none foundannuitynest.comVerified
TransamericaAegon Ltd.
Foreign parent · source
Transamerica Secure Retirement Index II Annuity (10-yr) [closed]not foundno numeric minimum published10.00%10.00%1.00%none foundstayretired.orgVerified
USAA LifeUnited Services Automobile Association
Other · source
USAA Fixed Indexed Annuity (7-yr)not foundno numeric minimum published1.70%none foundusaa.comVerified
Voya (now Venerable)VA Capital Company LLC (Apollo, Crestview Partners, Reverence Capital Partners led consortium)
PE-owned or PE-affiliated · source
Voya Secure Index Five Annuity [closed]not foundno numeric minimum published1.00%none foundamsfsg.comVerified
Voya (now Venerable)VA Capital Company LLC (Apollo, Crestview Partners, Reverence Capital Partners led consortium)
PE-owned or PE-affiliated · source
Voya Secure Index Opportunities Plus Annuity (10-yr, 5% bonus) [closed]not foundno numeric minimum published1.00%none foundamsfsg.comVerified
Voya (now Venerable)VA Capital Company LLC (Apollo, Crestview Partners, Reverence Capital Partners led consortium)
PE-owned or PE-affiliated · source
Voya Secure Index Seven Annuity [closed]not foundno numeric minimum published1.00%none foundamsfsg.comVerified

Who owns the insurer

Renewal caps are set by the insurer, so it can help to know who owns it. Ownership types among the 43 insurers here: Mutual: 9, Public stock: 7, PE-owned or PE-affiliated: 10, Foreign parent: 6, Other: 11. The labels describe ownership only, as stated in the cited source. They are not a rating and say nothing about any insurer's financial condition or future rates. Each insurer is a separately regulated company with its own capital requirements, and the contractual minimums above apply whoever owns it.

For what the ownership types mean for how caps are priced, and what regulators have published about insurer investments by ownership type, see Who owns your insurer, and why it matters for your renewal cap (Retirement Literacy Foundation).

Ownership of the 43 insurers in this study, from company filings, company pages and press releases, checked October 5, 2026
InsurerOwnerOwnership typeNoteSource (date checked)
Allianz LifeAllianz SEForeign parentWholly owned subsidiary of Allianz SE, a financial services group based in Munich, Germany; part of Allianz since 1979.allianzlife.com (2026-10-05)
American EquityBrookfield Wealth Solutions Ltd.PE-owned or PE-affiliatedSubsidiary of American National Group Inc., part of Brookfield Wealth Solutions, which completed its acquisition of American Equity on May 2, 2024.SEC filing (2026-10-05)
American General Life (Corebridge Financial)Corebridge Financial, Inc.Public stockSubsidiary of Corebridge Financial (NYSE: CRBG), whose largest holder is Nippon Life and in which Blackstone holds a minority stake and manages part of the portfolio; an all-stock merger with Equitable Holdings approved by stockholders July 30, 2026 had not closed as of the check date.nasdaq.com (2026-10-05)
American Life & SecurityAntarctica Capital (Midwest Holding LLC)PE-owned or PE-affiliatedSubsidiary of Midwest Holding LLC, which was acquired by an affiliate of Antarctica Capital, LLC on December 21, 2023 and delisted from Nasdaq.SEC filing (2026-10-05)
American NationalBrookfield Wealth Solutions Ltd.PE-owned or PE-affiliatedSubsidiary of American National Group Inc., owned by Brookfield Wealth Solutions since its acquisition of American National closed in May 2022.SEC filing (2026-10-05)
AmericoAmerico Life, Inc. (privately held)OtherSubsidiary of Americo Life, Inc., which describes itself as one of the largest independent, privately held insurance companies in the United States.americo.com (2026-10-05)
AmeritasAmeritas Mutual Holding CompanyMutualOwned through Ameritas Holding Company by Ameritas Mutual Holding Company, a mutual holding company.ameritas.com (2026-10-05)
AmFirst Insurance CompanyAmFirst Holdings, Inc.OtherWholly owned subsidiary of AmFirst Holdings, Inc., a privately held Mississippi holding company; Axonic Insurance, owned by Axonic Capital, distributes and services the annuities and describes AmFirst as a non-affiliated issuer.amfirstinsco.com (2026-10-05)
AspidaAres Management CorporationPE-owned or PE-affiliatedSubsidiary of Aspida Holdings Ltd., an indirect subsidiary of Ares Management Corporation; Ares Insurance Solutions serves as its investment manager.SEC filing (2026-10-05)
AtheneApollo Global Management, Inc.PE-owned or PE-affiliatedSubsidiary of Athene Holding Ltd., which merged with Apollo Global Management in January 2022 and is wholly owned by Apollo.SEC filing (2026-10-05)
Atlantic Coast LifeAdvantage Capital Holdings (A-CAP), privately heldOtherMember of the A-CAP group of insurers, owned by privately held Advantage Capital Holdings. A-CAP and Oaktree, an alternative asset manager, signed an agreement in March 2026 under which Oaktree would acquire a controlling stake; not reported closed as of the check date.businesswire.com (2026-10-05)
Brighthouse FinancialBrighthouse Financial, Inc. (Nasdaq: BHF)Public stockSubsidiary of publicly traded Brighthouse Financial, Inc.; a pending all-cash acquisition by an affiliate of Aquarian Capital, approved by stockholders February 12, 2026, still awaited insurance regulatory approvals and had not closed as of the check date.SEC filing (2026-10-05)
Delaware LifeGroup 1001 (controlled by Mark R. Walter)OtherWholly owned subsidiary of Group 1001 Insurance Holdings, LLC, a privately held group whose ultimate controlling person is Mark R. Walter.insurance.delaware.gov (2026-10-05)
EquitableEquitable Holdings, Inc. (NYSE: EQH)Public stockSubsidiary of publicly traded Equitable Holdings, Inc., which agreed in March 2026 to an all-stock merger with Corebridge Financial expected to close by year-end 2026.SEC filing (2026-10-05)
EquiTrustAmistad Financial Group, LLCOtherOwned by Amistad Financial Group, LLC, led by Eric Holoman, following a change of control approved by regulators in 2025; previously controlled by Magic Johnson Enterprises.equitrust.com (2026-10-05)
F&GFidelity National Financial, Inc. (NYSE: FNF)Public stockSubsidiary of F&G Annuities & Life (NYSE: FG), which is about 70% owned by Fidelity National Financial after a December 31, 2025 distribution; Blackstone manages much of its portfolio under investment management agreements.SEC filing (2026-10-05)
Forethought Life (Global Atlantic)KKR & Co. Inc.PE-owned or PE-affiliatedForethought Life is a subsidiary of Global Atlantic Financial Group, wholly owned by KKR since KKR acquired the remaining 37% on January 2, 2024.SEC filing (2026-10-05)
Great American LifeMassachusetts Mutual Life Insurance Company (MassMutual)MutualFormerly Great American Life Insurance Company; acquired by MassMutual from American Financial Group in May 2021 and renamed MassMutual Ascend Life Insurance Company in October 2022.massmutualascend.com (2026-10-05)
Integrity Life (Western & Southern)Western & Southern Mutual Holding CompanyMutualMember of Western & Southern Financial Group, a Cincinnati-based group under a mutual holding company structure.westernsouthern.com (2026-10-05)
Jackson NationalJackson Financial Inc. (NYSE: JXN)Public stockWholly owned subsidiary of Jackson Financial Inc., a public company since its September 2021 separation from Prudential plc.SEC filing (2026-10-05)
Life Insurance Company of the SouthwestNational Life Holding Company (mutual holding company)MutualSubsidiary of National Life Insurance Company, owned through NLV Financial Corporation by National Life Holding Company, a mutual holding company.nationallife.com (2026-10-05)
LincolnLincoln National Corporation (NYSE: LNC)Public stockSubsidiary of publicly traded Lincoln National Corporation, in which Bain Capital acquired a 9.9% common equity stake in June 2025 alongside a 10-year investment management relationship.lincolnfinancial.com (2026-10-05)
MassMutual AscendMassachusetts Mutual Life Insurance Company (MassMutual)MutualFormerly Great American Life Insurance Company; acquired by MassMutual from American Financial Group in May 2021 and renamed MassMutual Ascend Life Insurance Company in October 2022.massmutualascend.com (2026-10-05)
Midland NationalSammons Enterprises, Inc. (employee-owned via ESOP)OtherMember of Sammons Financial Group, a unit of Sammons Enterprises, Inc., which is 100% owned by its Employee Stock Ownership Plan established in 1978.sammonsfinancialgroup.com (2026-10-05)
NassauNassau Financial Group (majority owned by Golden Gate Capital)PE-owned or PE-affiliatedSubsidiary of Nassau Financial Group, whose majority controlling equity holder is Golden Gate Capital; Golub Capital holds a minority stake and an investment management agreement (closed January 2025).golubcapital.com (2026-10-05)
National WesternJAB Holding Company (JAB Insurance)OtherOwned through Prosperity Life Group, which completed its acquisition of National Western in July 2024; JAB Insurance completed its acquisition of Prosperity from Elliott Investment Management in September 2025.businesswire.com (2026-10-05)
NationwideNationwide Mutual Insurance CompanyMutualIndirect subsidiary of Nationwide Mutual Insurance Company, an Ohio mutual insurer, through Nationwide Financial Services, Inc.nationwide.com (2026-10-05)
New York LifeNew York Life Insurance CompanyMutualWholly owned subsidiary of New York Life Insurance Company, a mutual life insurer.newyorklife.com (2026-10-05)
North AmericanSammons Enterprises, Inc. (employee-owned via ESOP)OtherMember of Sammons Financial Group, a unit of Sammons Enterprises, Inc., which is 100% owned by its Employee Stock Ownership Plan established in 1978.sammonsfinancialgroup.com (2026-10-05)
OceanviewBayview Asset Management (via Bayview Opportunity V Oceanview L.P.)PE-owned or PE-affiliatedPart of Oceanview Holdings, Ltd., whose parent is a Bermuda fund whose general partner is a subsidiary of Bayview Asset Management; a Bayview subsidiary is the investment manager.cdn.bma.bm (2026-10-05)
Pacific LifePacific Mutual Holding CompanyMutualOwned through Pacific LifeCorp by Pacific Mutual Holding Company, a Nebraska mutual holding company.pacificlife.com (2026-10-05)
ProtectiveDai-ichi Life Holdings, Inc.Foreign parentWholly owned subsidiary of Dai-ichi Life Holdings, Inc. of Japan since February 1, 2015.investor.protective.com (2026-10-05)
Prudential (Pruco Life)Prudential Financial, Inc. (NYSE: PRU)Public stockWholly owned subsidiary of The Prudential Insurance Company of America, an indirect wholly owned subsidiary of Prudential Financial, Inc.SEC filing (2026-10-05)
SagicorSagicor Financial Company Ltd. (TSX: SFC)Foreign parentWholly owned subsidiary of Sagicor Financial Company Ltd., a Bermuda-incorporated insurer listed on the Toronto Stock Exchange.sagicor.com (2026-10-05)
Securian (Minnesota Life)Minnesota Mutual Companies, Inc.MutualMinnesota Life is owned through Securian Financial Group by Minnesota Mutual Companies, Inc., a mutual insurance holding company.securian.com (2026-10-05)
Sentinel Security LifeAdvantage Capital Holdings (A-CAP), privately heldOtherMember of the A-CAP group of insurers, owned by privately held Advantage Capital Holdings. A-CAP and Oaktree, an alternative asset manager, signed an agreement in March 2026 under which Oaktree would acquire a controlling stake; not reported closed as of the check date.businesswire.com (2026-10-05)
SILACSILAC, Inc. (acquisition by Hildene Capital Management pending)PE-owned or PE-affiliatedSubsidiary of SILAC, Inc., which agreed in December 2025 to be acquired by Hildene Capital Management, a credit-focused alternative asset manager that has held a minority stake since 2022 and manages part of SILAC's portfolio.businesswire.com (2026-10-05)
SymetraSumitomo Life Insurance CompanyForeign parentWholly owned subsidiary of Symetra Financial Corporation, owned by Japan's Sumitomo Life Insurance Company since February 1, 2016.investors.symetra.com (2026-10-05)
The StandardMeiji Yasuda Life Insurance CompanyForeign parentSubsidiary of StanCorp Financial Group, which became part of Japan's Meiji Yasuda Life Insurance Company in 2016.SEC filing (2026-10-05)
ThriventThrivent (owned by its members)OtherMembership-owned fraternal benefit society.thrivent.com (2026-10-05)
TransamericaAegon Ltd.Foreign parentIndirect subsidiary of Aegon Ltd., a Bermuda-domiciled listed company that has proposed redomiciling to Delaware as Transamerica Inc., with a shareholder vote set for October 8, 2026.aegon.com (2026-10-05)
USAA LifeUnited Services Automobile AssociationOtherWholly owned subsidiary of United Services Automobile Association, a member-owned reciprocal interinsurance exchange based in San Antonio, Texas.SEC filing (2026-10-05)
Voya (now Venerable)VA Capital Company LLC (Apollo, Crestview Partners, Reverence Capital Partners led consortium)PE-owned or PE-affiliatedSubsidiary of Venerable Holdings, whose parent VA Capital Company LLC is owned by an investor consortium led by affiliates of Apollo, Crestview Partners and Reverence Capital Partners; the company was renamed from Voya Insurance and Annuity Company after the 2018 acquisition of Voya's closed variable annuity block.SEC filing (2026-10-05)

The widest gaps between today's cap and the contractual minimum

Verified documents only, S&P 500 one-year cap, rates effective August 2026 or later:

Spreads and margins can work the same way. The contractual maximum daily-average margin on Midland National's MNL Endeavor 8 is 25.00% (rate disclosure 41062Y, June 18, 2026), so the averaged index gain would have to exceed 25% before that strategy credits anything. North American's VersaChoice 10 and Performance Choice 8 allow a 15.00% maximum spread, and Forethought's ForeAccumulation II and ForeIncome II also allow 15.00%. At the other end, a higher floor does not always mean much room above it: Corebridge Power Select Plus Income with the Lifetime Income Plus Multiplier Flex rider states a 2.00% minimum cap in years 1 to 10, and its current S&P 500 cap is 2.70%, 0.70 points above that floor (rate sheet effective October 1, 2026).

How the floors have moved

The practical point: the floor that applies to you is the one printed in your own contract and its data pages, by issue date and state. A disclosure for today's version can be lower or higher than what an older contract promised.

Bailout provisions: few, and one that cannot trigger

A bailout lets you leave without a surrender charge if the insurer declares a cap below a stated rate. In the public documents we checked, they are rare:

We found no bailout in the public documents of Allianz, North American, Midland National, Lincoln, F&G, Nationwide, MassMutual Ascend or Symetra.

Products that publish no numeric minimum cap

For 54 FIA product rows we found no public numeric minimum annual cap. In several, the document says only that rates will "never be less than the guaranteed minimum" described in the contract, so the number is visible only in the contract you receive. Some of these products publish other minimums (participation, spread or fixed account); those are in the table and the CSV.

Allianz's newest contract series (222+, Benefit Control+ and Accumulation Advantage Classic) refer to minimums "stated in the Statement of Understanding", which is not public; the table fills them from sister products on the same base contract and grades them partial.

Rate locks: the protection that matters more than the floor

A floor tells you the worst case. A lock tells you the rate will not move for a stated period. In public documents, these strategies lock a cap or rate for the surrender period or a multi-year term:

A lock trades flexibility for certainty. If certainty of the rate is the main goal, compare it with a fixed-rate annuity that declares its rate for the whole term.

RILAs: reported separately

Registered index-linked annuities are securities. Their buffers or floors limit losses rather than guarantee principal, so a low cap floor is a different trade-off than in a fixed indexed annuity. The minimums below come mostly from SEC prospectuses. Two examples: Nationwide Defender's prospectus states a minimum cap of 0.05% for the life of the contract on every index strategy, while Equitable's Structured Capital Strategies PLUS 21 prospectus states a 12% minimum performance cap rate for 6-year segments and 2% for 1-year segments.

Registered index-linked annuities: contractual minimum caps, SEC prospectuses and public documents checked October 4, 2026
InsurerOwner (ownership type)ProductContractual minimum capSourceGrade
Allianz LifeAllianz SE
Foreign parent · source
Allianz Index Advantage Income Variable Annuity (RILA, older)0.50% (3% (1-yr Performance/Guard); 0.50% (Protection))allianzlife.comVerified
Allianz LifeAllianz SE
Foreign parent · source
Allianz Index Advantage+ Income Variable Annuity (RILA)0.50%allianzlife.comVerified
Allianz LifeAllianz SE
Foreign parent · source
Allianz Index Advantage+ Variable Annuity (RILA)2.00%allianzlife.comVerified
Allianz LifeAllianz SE
Foreign parent · source
Index Advantage (legacy)1.50%SEC filingVerified
Allianz LifeAllianz SE
Foreign parent · source
Index Advantage NF (legacy)0.10%SEC filingVerified
Allianz LifeAllianz SE
Foreign parent · source
Index Advantage+2.00%SEC filingVerified
Allianz LifeAllianz SE
Foreign parent · source
Index Advantage+ Income0.50%SEC filingVerified
Allianz LifeAllianz SE
Foreign parent · source
Index Advantage+ NF (no-fee/advisory)0.10%SEC filingVerified
AtheneApollo Global Management, Inc.
PE-owned or PE-affiliated · source
Athene Amplify 2.02.00% (2.00% (1-yr) / 4.00% (2-yr) / 12.00% (6-yr))SEC filingVerified
AtheneApollo Global Management, Inc.
PE-owned or PE-affiliated · source
Athene Amplify 2.0 NF (advisory)1.00% (1.00% (1-yr) / 2.00% (2-yr) / 6.00% (6-yr))SEC filingVerified
Brighthouse FinancialBrighthouse Financial, Inc. (Nasdaq: BHF)
Public stock · source
Shield Level II 6-Year (successor to Shield Level Select 6-Year)2.00%SEC filingVerified
Brighthouse FinancialBrighthouse Financial, Inc. (Nasdaq: BHF)
Public stock · source
Shield Level Pay Plus II2.00%SEC filingVerified
Brighthouse FinancialBrighthouse Financial, Inc. (Nasdaq: BHF)
Public stock · source
Shield Level Select 6-Year / 3-Year (2025 S-3 re-registration)2.00%SEC filingPartial (secondary source)
EquitableEquitable Holdings, Inc. (NYSE: EQH)
Public stock · source
Structured Capital Strategies PLUS (original, closed to new sales)2.00% (Standard 6-yr 12%, 1-yr 2%; Annual Lock 2%; Step Up 2%; Dual Direction 12%/15%/20% (by -10/-15/-20 buffer); Enhanced Upside 12%)SEC filingVerified
EquitableEquitable Holdings, Inc. (NYSE: EQH)
Public stock · source
Structured Capital Strategies PLUS 21 (New York)4.50% (6-yr: 30% / 27% / 24% (buffer -10/-15/-20); 1-yr: 5% / 4.5% (buffer -10/-15); Annual Lock & Step Up 5%)SEC filingVerified
EquitableEquitable Holdings, Inc. (NYSE: EQH)
Public stock · source
Structured Capital Strategies PLUS 21 (Series B)2.00%SEC filingVerified
Great American LifeMassachusetts Mutual Life Insurance Company (MassMutual)
Mutual · source
Great American registered index-linked annuity (2015 registration)no numeric minimum publishedSEC filingPartial (secondary source)
Jackson NationalJackson Financial Inc. (NYSE: JXN)
Public stock · source
Market Link Pro (Market Link Pro Suite)1.00%SEC filingVerified
LincolnLincoln National Corporation (NYSE: LNC)
Public stock · source
Lincoln Level Advantage 2 (B-Share)0.10%SEC filingVerified
MassMutual AscendMassachusetts Mutual Life Insurance Company (MassMutual)
Mutual · source
MassMutual Ascend Index Achiever / Index Achiever Advisory1.00%SEC filingVerified
MassMutual AscendMassachusetts Mutual Life Insurance Company (MassMutual)
Mutual · source
MassMutual Ascend Index Summit 6 / 6 Pro1.00%mybusiness.massmutualascend.comVerified
NationwideNationwide Mutual Insurance Company
Mutual · source
Nationwide Defender Annuity0.05%SEC filingVerified
Prudential (Pruco Life)Prudential Financial, Inc. (NYSE: PRU)
Public stock · source
FlexGuard 2.01.00%SEC filingVerified
Prudential (Pruco Life)Prudential Financial, Inc. (NYSE: PRU)
Public stock · source
FlexGuard Income1.00% (1.00% / 10.00%)SEC filingVerified
SymetraSumitomo Life Insurance Company
Foreign parent · source
Symetra Trek (RILA)1.00% (2% during surrender period; 1% after)SEC filingVerified

If a known rate matters most

An indexed annuity pays a declared cap for one term, then whatever the insurer declares next, down to the contractual minimum. A fixed-rate deferred annuity (often called a multi-year guaranteed annuity, or MYGA) declares its rate for the whole term in the contract, and a bank CD does the same for its term. If the reason for buying is a predictable rate, compare the locked rate on those products with the minimum, not the current cap, on an indexed annuity.

Questions to ask before you sign

  1. What is the guaranteed minimum cap, minimum participation rate and maximum spread for each strategy I am choosing? Please show me the page of the contract or statement of understanding where it is written.
  2. Is there a bailout provision? At what declared cap does it let me leave without a surrender charge, and is that rate above the minimum cap?
  3. Is any cap locked for the surrender period, or is every rate reset each year at the insurer's discretion?
  4. What is the full surrender schedule by year, is there a market value adjustment (MVA), and how much can I withdraw each year without a charge?
  5. How are you paid on this product? Annuity agents are usually paid a commission by the insurer, built into the product's pricing rather than deducted from your premium. What is the percentage, and does a longer surrender term pay you more?

Sources (checked October 4, 2026)

  1. Allianz 222 Annuity (C54370, Oregon-only for new sales): allianzlife.com (checked October 4, 2026)
  2. Allianz 222+ Annuity (C64997): allianzlife.com (checked October 4, 2026)
  3. Corebridge Power Select Builder: adminplus.fgsfulfillment.com (checked October 4, 2026)
  4. Corebridge Power Select Plus Income (Lifetime Income Plus Flex): adminplus.fgsfulfillment.com (checked October 4, 2026)
  5. Americo Growth Commander 6 / 10: growthcommanderfia.com (checked October 4, 2026)
  6. Athene Agility 10: files.ipipeline.com (checked October 4, 2026)
  7. Athene Amplify 2.0: SEC filing (checked October 4, 2026)
  8. Atlantic Coast Life Safe Anchor (5-yr FIA): aclico.com (checked October 4, 2026)
  9. Brighthouse Financial Shield Level II 6-Year (successor to Shield Level Select 6-Year): SEC filing (checked October 4, 2026)
  10. Brighthouse Financial Shield Level Pay Plus II: SEC filing (checked October 4, 2026)
  11. Equitable Structured Capital Strategies PLUS (original, closed to new sales): SEC filing (checked October 4, 2026)
  12. Equitable Structured Capital Strategies PLUS 21 (New York): SEC filing (checked October 4, 2026)
  13. EquiTrust MarketEdge Bonus Index: agents.equitrust.com (checked October 4, 2026)
  14. EquiTrust MarketPower Bonus Index: agents.equitrust.com (checked October 4, 2026)
  15. F&G Prosperity Elite 7/10/14: annuityresources.com (checked October 4, 2026)
  16. F&G Safe Income Plus: annuityresources.com (checked October 4, 2026)
  17. Forethought ForeAccumulation II: veritas-solutions.net (checked October 4, 2026)
  18. Forethought ForeIncome II: veritas-solutions.net (checked October 4, 2026)
  19. Integrity Life (Western & Southern) Indextra Series (5/7/10-yr): accessful.com (checked October 4, 2026)
  20. Jackson National Market Link Pro (Market Link Pro Suite): SEC filing (checked October 4, 2026)
  21. Jackson National MarketProtector (5/7-yr): jackson.com (checked October 4, 2026)
  22. Life Insurance Company of the Southwest FIT Secure Growth (flexible premium FIA): 403bcompare.com (checked October 4, 2026)
  23. Lincoln Core Capital: visit.lfg.com (checked October 4, 2026)
  24. Lincoln Covered Choice 5 II: visit.lfg.com (checked October 4, 2026)
  25. MassMutual Ascend American Legend 7: mybusiness.massmutualascend.com (checked October 4, 2026)
  26. MassMutual Ascend Index Achiever / Index Achiever Advisory: SEC filing (checked October 4, 2026)
  27. Midland National MNL Endeavor 8: midlandnational.com (checked October 4, 2026)
  28. Nassau Growth Annuity (7/10-yr): assets.nfg.com (checked October 4, 2026)
  29. National Western NWL Ultra Classic (FPDA): eapp.nationalwesternlife.com (checked October 4, 2026)
  30. Nationwide Defender Annuity: SEC filing (checked October 4, 2026)
  31. New York Life IndexFlex Fixed Annuity-FP Series (5/7-yr): assets.newyorklife.com (checked October 4, 2026)
  32. North American NAC VersaChoice 10: fmiagent.com (checked October 4, 2026)
  33. North American Charter Plus 10: fmiagent.com (checked October 4, 2026)
  34. Protective Income Builder: finpro.protective.com (checked October 4, 2026)
  35. Prudential (Pruco Life) FlexGuard 2.0: SEC filing (checked October 4, 2026)
  36. Prudential (Pruco Life) FlexGuard Income: SEC filing (checked October 4, 2026)
  37. Securian (Minnesota Life) SecureLink Ultra 5 / Ultra 7: fmiagent.com (checked October 4, 2026)
  38. Sentinel Security Life Accumulation Protector Plus Annuity (10-yr, 20% bonus): sslco.com (checked October 4, 2026)
  39. Symetra Edge Elite: symetra.com (checked October 4, 2026)
  40. Symetra Stride: symetra.com (checked October 4, 2026)
  41. The Standard Enhanced Choice Index Plus 5/7/10 (ECI Plus, 2025 version): standard.com (checked October 4, 2026)
  42. The Standard Index Select Annuity 10: standard.com (checked October 4, 2026)
  43. Thrivent Secure Retirement Builder Fixed Indexed Annuity (with GLWB): thrivent.com (checked October 4, 2026)
  44. Thrivent Security Preference Fixed Indexed Annuity: thrivent.com (checked October 4, 2026)
  45. Transamerica Secure Retirement Index Annuity (10-yr) [closed to new sales]: annuitynest.com (checked October 4, 2026)
  46. Secondary source for rows graded partial: AnnuityRatesHQ (republished CANNEX rate data, checked October 2 to 4, 2026)
  47. Every row with its own source URL, quote and form number: the CSV
Cite this research
Goldstein, H. (2026, October 4). FIA Guaranteed Minimum Caps: How Low the Insurer Can Cut Your Cap. Retirement Literacy Foundation. https://retirementliteracyfoundation.org/research/fia-guaranteed-minimum-caps/

Journalists and educators may quote and chart these findings with a link to this page. Data: download the CSV (970 strategy rows, verified and secondary-source only, each with its source URL, quote, form number and date). As of October 4, 2026.

Free · one page · no cost, ever

Get the free Social Security guide.

You’re reading about Annuity commissions. Social Security touches almost all of it, and it is where the costliest mistakes happen. We’ll email you our guide, the taxable-benefit thresholds, the survivor-benefit trap and the claiming-age math, in plain English, plus an invite to the next free class. This is a public charity; there is nothing to buy.

The Retirement Literacy Foundation is a 501(c)(3) public charity (EIN 41-5062266). Free public education only. We don’t sell financial products and we don’t give individualized advice. We’ll email it to you. Unsubscribe any time.